What is Google Analytics?

First off, you should know that I’m a huge Pinterest fan. A while ago, I was scrolling through my feed when I came across this pin:

How to Use Google Analytics: Getting Started

I repined it to my page and glanced through the article and was intrigued to learn more about Google Analytics, however I never got around to coming back to the article and learning more about it. When I saw the syllabus on the first day of class I was thrilled to see we’re learning about Google Analytics and going through the certification for it, because it’s been on my unending list of things to do for a while!

After class on Wednesday, I was left thinking about why Google Analytics has become so prevalent in digital marketing and when I started to analyze it, digital media has become an integral part of our daily lives. The article The Forrester Wave: Web Analytics, Q2 2014, illustrated how Google, along with Adobe, AT Internet, IBM, SAS Institute, and Webtrends, has a leading edge on collecting data and data analytics. I found this to be interesting because we live in a world where there is so much data generated daily that being able to not only collect this data but analyze it and make predictions about the future is an integral part of a good business. I also found it interesting that the article specifically mentioned how Google Analytics has an ease of use to ensure it provides rapid time-to-value. I feel that Google as a whole, especially Google search and Google Analytics, both represent ease of use; and when I think of Google that’s one of the first phrases I think of to describe them. However, after looking at Figure 3 in the Forresterwave article, I was surprised to see that Adobe surpassed Google Analytics in regards to market presence and current offering. After pondering this and reading the rest of the article, I began to see how Adobe was more popular among enterprise companies because of the attention to detail in their product and the support that they provide for  their SasS compared to Google Analytics, which has a reputation for providing poor support to its users. This aside, Google Analytics is popular among smaller companies because of the ease of use and the layout of their dashboard – which is fairly easy to use and navigate through the settings and features.

When the words data or big data are mentioned I automatically flash back to my MIS 320 class where we were provided with large amounts of data in databases that we then filtered down according to that week’s assignment. At the time all of the information seemed overwhelming and in my mind useless. However, after seeing this data filtered down and put to use I began to realize big data and having access to databases is one of the most valuable resources a business can possess. Through beginning the Google Analytics course I was amazed at the amount of data that it collects and the specific data it’s able to collect as well – such as the time spent on a specific website. Why is this data so important you might ask? When analyzed thoroughly using applications such as Google Analytics, marketers are able to turn raw data into information and then turn the information they possess into knowledge. For example if a business realizes after analyzing their data on customers and potential customers that users exit out of their site completely after unsuccessfully completing their shipping information for example, they could recognize a problem, pinpoint it, and then work to remedy the problem so it wouldn’t negatively impact their customers and ultimately their business.

I’ve been excited to learn more about Google Analytics and get certified in it, so I enjoyed watching the video tutorials about it. When I looked around on the main Google Analytics page I found it interesting that they had an endorsements from Intuit and that highlighted how Google Analytics had helped their company in particular. I thought it was a good thing to include because I liked being able to look at the report and see how a real world business could use Google Analytics to help them and it also validated why I think it will be an important skill to possess post-graduation. I enjoyed watching the videos and I am excited to be able to learn more about analytics throughout the rest of the week.

Until next time,

Sophia

Leave a Reply

